D r i f t w o o d   A d v e n t u r e s


L'entreprise

Nos voyages

Nourriture

Questions

Directions

Termes

Contact




Q U E S T I O N S   F R É Q U E N T E S

Qu'est-ce qui est inclus ?
Responsabilités de l'invité
De quelle dimension sont les groupes ?
Quel est l'âge minimum requis ?
Quelle sorte de kayak vais-je utiliser ?
Dois-je avoir de l'expérience au préalable ?
à quel niveau de difficulté peut-on s'attendre ?
Combien d'heures par jour allons-nous pagayer ?
à quoi ressemble la météo ?
Y a-t-il d'autres activités ?
Vie sauvage ?
Alcool ?
Poisson et fruits de mer ?
Hygiène personnelle ?





Qu'est-ce qui est inclus ?



Responsabilités de l'invité
  • Les invités doivent apporter leurs vètements personnels, chaussures/bottes et sac de couchage.
  • Les invités sont responsables pour leur propre transport aller-retour vers le point de départ du voyage à Tofino, BC
  • Hébergement et repas avant et après le voyage ne sont pas inclus. Une trousse d'information pré-voyage, fournie lors de la réception du dépôt, vous renseignera sur l'hébergement et suggestions de restos dans la région. Il est fortement suggéré de réserver l'hébergement à l'avance.
  • Veuillez vérifier à l'avance si votre couverture médicale est suffisante pour participer à l'un de nos voyages. Driftwood Adventures ne peut assumer toute dépense médicale ou évacuation encourue pour raison de santé ou de sécurité durant l'expédition.
  • Chaque invité sera requis de signer le formulaire de Driftwood Adventures intitulé : Dégagement de Responsabilité et d'Indemnisation, Décharge, Désistement et Acceptation des Risques et de compléter le Questionnaire Médical avant la date de départ. Tout participant âgé de moins de 19 ans devra faire signer un Dégagement de Responsabilité par le tuteur légal.

De quelle dimension sont les groupes ?

Driftwood Adventures s'adresse à des groupes de 2 à 6 personnes. De plus grands groupes sont possibles en autant que des arrangements ont été faits d'avance avec Driftwood Adventures.

Quel est l'âge minimum requis ?

Les enfants de 10 ans et plus sont les bienvenus. Le kayak de mer est une opportunité incroyable de réunir la famille pour une activité de plein air. Avec arrangements préalables auprès de Driftwood Adventures, il peut ètre possible d'inclure des enfants plus jeunes.

Quelle sorte de kayak vais-je utiliser ?

Driftwood Adventures est fier d'offrir ses kayaks Seaward simples et doubles. Les kayaks Seaward sont fabriqués sur l'île de Vancouver et représentent le point de référence en terme de qualité et performance sur l'eau dans l'industrie du kayak de mer.

Dois-je avoir de l'expérience au préalable ?

Non, aucune expérience antérieure en kayak n'est nécessaire. Nos guides certifiés se feront un plaisir de vous initier à ce sport en vous enseignant les rudiments de base pour manier efficacement le kayak.

À quel niveau de difficulté peut-on s'attendre ?

Nos voyages ne sont pas conçus pour déployer des efforts démesurés, par contre, si le vent devait souffler en sens contraire ou si l'on devait pagayer contre-courant, une bonne condition physique saurait rendre l'expérience plus agréable. Il n'est pas nécessaire d'être un athlète super-élite mais on doit pouvoir être physiquement capable de fournir un effort modéré et soutenu pendant quelques heures chaque jour. Plus important encore est d'y apporter une attitude positive et un gout pour l'aventure.

Combien d'heures par jour allons-nous pagayer ?

Ceci dépendra entièrement du niveau d'habileté et des besoins du groupe. Vous pouvez estimer de 3 à 6 heures par jour. Du temps est aussi réservé pour explorer les magnifiques plages de sable blanc et les forêts majestueuses.

À quoi ressemble la météo ?

La température dans notre région est en général très clémente. Nos voyages prennent place dans Clayoquot Sound qui est une forêt humide tempérée ; la majorité des précipitations ont lieu de novembre à mars. Les mois d'été sont généralement secs. Les températures oscillent entre 15 et 25 degrés Celsius.

Y a-t-il d'autres activités ?

Nous utilisons les kayaks de mer pour naviguer et explorer les eaux de Clayoquot Sound. Les plages recèlent les plus beaux trésors de l'ouest du Canada. Dépendamment des conditions et du temps de l'année, il est possible de faire de la randonnée pédestre, observation d'oiseaux, pêche, natation, faire voler un cerf-volant ou tout simplement relaxer.

Vie sauvage ?

La faune et la flore de Clayoquot Sound est des plus variées. Il n'est pas rare d'y voir : phoques, loutres de rivière et de mer, otaries, dauphins, baleines grises ou à bosses. On y retrouve aussi une multitude d'oiseaux de mer. Votre guide saura vous faire part du protocole auquel adhère Driftwood Adventures concernant le visionnement de la vie sauvage sans déranger son environnement naturel.

Alcool ?

Il y a des boissons alcoolisées d'incluses avec le voyage. Si les invités souhaitent en apporter davantage, on doit prendre en ligne de compte l'espace disponible. Une fois que de l'alcool a été consommé, on ne retourne pas sur l'eau cette journée-là.

Poisson et fruits de mer ?

Il est possible de pÉcher durant le voyage dépendamment du temps de l'année. Un permis en règle est obligatoire et peut être acheté à Tofino. Les fruits de mer ne sont pas consommés en raison de sécurité.

Hygiène personnelle ?

Les voyages avec hébergement en auberge mettent à votre disposition douches chaudes et toilettes modernes. Les excursions en camping se font dans un décor plus sauvage. Il y a des toilettes rudimentaires extérieures sur la plupart des plages. Pendant les mois de juillet et août, il n'est pas rare de se laver dans l'océan avec savon biodégradable.



D r i f t w o o d   A d v e n t u r e s


C H E S T E R M A N   B E A C H,   T O F I N O
info@driftwoodadventures.com

D r i f t w o o d   A d v e n t u r e s


About Us

Our Tours

Food & Wine

FAQ

Directions

Terms

Contact Us




F R E Q U E N T L Y   A S K E D   Q U E S T I O N S

What is included?
Guest Responsibility
How large are the groups?
What is the minimum age limit?
What kind of kayak will I be paddling?
Do I require previous experience?
What is the difficulty level?
How much paddling will we do each day?
How is the weather?
Is there any other activities?
Will I see wildlife?
Do you provide alcohol?
Can I fish or harvest shellfish?
Are there bathrooms and how do I wash?





What is included?
  • Driftwood Adventures provides virtually everything you will need for your sea kayaking adventure;
  • professional, certified guides
  • all meals, snacks and hot beverages starting with lunch on the first day through to lunch on the final day
  • touring sea kayaks (fibreglass single & doubles) along with all the required paddling equipment
  • all necessary safety equipment
  • all the necessary wilderness kitchen
  • tents and sleeping pad safety equipment and communication equipment
  • library with guidebooks and books of relevance
  • pre-trip information providing comprehensive information on suggested outdoor clothing for your trip. Your pre-trip information outlines suggested quantities to bring along to make your trip enjoyable for any weather conditions that could be encountered.
  • all public land and BC Park use permits
  • FUN! Included at no extra cost.


Guest Responsibility
  • Guests need to supply their own clothes, footwear, sleeping bag.
  • Guests are responsible for their own transportation to and from the trip point of departure, Tofino, BC.
  • Accommodations, and meals prior to or after your trip, are not included. A pre-trip information package, which is provided to you upon receipt of your trip deposit, provides local accommodation and dining suggestions. It is advisable to make accommodation reservations in advance.
  • Please check with your health care plan administrator to ensure that you have sufficient coverage while participating on one of our tours. Driftwood Adventures Inc. is not responsible for any medical or evacuation costs should they be incurred for your safety or health during the course of the tour.
  • Each guest will be required to sign a Driftwood Adventures Inc. ' Release of Liability, Waiver of Claims, Assumptions of Risk, & Indemnity Agreement' and complete a 'Medical Form', prior to the trip departure date. Any trip participant under the age of 19 years will be required to have a legal guardian sign an Indemnity Agreement.

How large are the groups?

Driftwood Adventures caters to groups ranging from 2-6 people. Larger groups may be catered to if there have been some previous arrangements with Driftwood Adventures Inc.

What is the minimum age limit?

Children from the age of 10 and up are welcome on the trips. Sea kayaking is a great way to spend some time in the outdoors with the whole family. With prior arrangement with Driftwood Adventures Inc., it may be possible to bring younger children.

What kind of kayak will I be paddling?

Driftwood Adventures is proud to offer single and double Seaward sea kayaks. Seaward kayaks are built on Vancouver Island and set the benchmark for quality and seamanship in the kayaking industry.

Do I require previous experience?

No previous paddling experience is necessary. Our certified sea kayak guides will be pleased to introduce you to the sport and help you develop the primary skills to efficiently operate a sea kayak.

What is the difficulty level?

Our tours are not meant to be strenuous but if a wind should be blowing the wrong way, or we can't catch a "co-operative" tide, good general physical condition will go a long way in ensuring you have a more enjoyable experience. You don't need to be a strong, athletic person, but you must be physically capable of moderate exercise for a few hours each day. What is more important is that you bring along a positive, adventurous spirit.

How much paddling will we do each day?

The amount of paddling will entirely depend on the group's needs and ability. You can expect to paddle between 3-6 hours a day. Time is also dedicated to exploring the beautiful white sandy beaches and the breathtaking forests.

How is the weather?

The weather in our area is generally quite pleasant. Our trips take place in Clayoquot Sound which is a temperate rain forest; with the bulk of the precipitations occurring between the months of November and March. The summer months are generally dry. Temperatures range between 15 and 25 degree Celsius. The ocean breeze tends to keep things relatively cool.

Is there any other activities?

We use the sea kayaks to travel and explore the waters of Clayoquot Sound. The area also boasts some of the best beachcombing in Western Canada. Depending on the time of the year and the conditions, hiking, kite flying, bird watching, fishing, swimming and relaxing can also be done.

Will I see wildlife?

Clayoquot Sound is home to a wide variety of fauna and flora. It is not uncommon to encounter: harbour seals, river otters, sea otters, stellar and California sea lions, porpoises, gray whales, humpback whales. This area is also home to a multitude of sea birds. Your guide will discuss special protocols which Driftwood Adventures Inc. adheres to in order to view wildlife without disturbing its natural environment.

Do you provide alcohol?

Some alcohol is included with the tour. If guests want to bring extra, it is dependant on available space. Once alcohol has been consumed, the paddling for that day has ceased.

Can I fish or harvest shellfish?

Some fishing is possible on the trip depending on the time of the year. Fishing licenses are mandatory and can be purchased in Tofino. Shellfish is not harvested for safety reasons.

Are there bathrooms and how do I wash?

Our lodge based trips have warm showers and flush toilets. The camping trips take place in a wilderness setting. Outhouses are available at most beaches. In the months of July and August, it is common to bathe and wash in the ocean using biodegradable soap.



D r i f t w o o d   A d v e n t u r e s


C H E S T E R M A N   B E A C H,   T O F I N O
info@driftwoodadventures.com